Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Larson Votes for the American Dream and Promise Act

June 4, 2019
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Today, Rep. John B. Larson (CT-01) voted for HR 6, the American Dream and Promise Act of 2019, which offers a pathway to citizenship for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA, also known as Dreamers) recipients, Temporary Protected Status (TPS) recipients, and for Deferred Enforce Departure (DED) recipients.  Larson is an original cosponsor of the bill.

“Since the Trump Administration made the decision to end DACA, there has been bipartisan calls for action to provide a legislative path forward for these young people. Today, with a Democratic majority, the House has passed a path forward for DACA, TPS, and DED recipients. This is long overdue, DACA, TPS, and DED recipients have lived in the United States for years, built their lives here and are members of our communities. They are Americans in every sense of the word,” said Larson. “It’s time to provide these Americans with a clear path to citizenship. I urge the Senate to take action and make this dream a reality.”

Those eligible for this protection are either Dreamers who came to United States as children or individuals with TPS or DED status whose countries of origin are experiencing ongoing armed conflict, natural disasters, or other circumstances. On average, TPS and DED recipients have lived in the United States since 1997. Up to 2.5 million people would be eligible for the protections offered under the Dream and Promise Act.