Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Larson Introduces Resolution Demanding Action on Gun Violence

June 2, 2017
Press Release
Legislation Requires Congressional Action following Moments of Silence on the House Floor

In recognition of Gun Violence Awareness Day, Rep. John B. Larson (CT-01) joined Rep. Tony Cárdenas (CA-29) in introducing a resolution that would compel Congress to take action in the face of gun tragedies. H.Res.370, cosponsored by more than 100 Members of Congress, would require that any moment of silence held on the floor of the House of Representatives due to a tragedy involving gun violence be promptly followed by a hearing to discuss the cause of the tragedy and how similar events might be prevented in the future.

“As we commemorate another Gun Violence Awareness Day, it’s clear that now more than ever we need to address gun violence,” said Larson. “Tragedies involving gun violence should be followed by more than just silence. Congress needs to stop dragging its feet and finally consider meaningful reforms to prevent further loss of innocent lives. Since the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary, there hasn’t been a single vote to address the gun violence in the House of Representatives. Congress is complicit in these tragedies because of the lack of action. We need a vote, and we will continue to demand a vote and action for the victims of gun violence.”

“Americans are tired of Congressional inaction on the massive public health crisis that is gun violence in this country,” said Representative Cárdenas. “Every year, Members of Congress of both parties introduce dozens of bills to address gun violence, from making sure firearms don't fall into the hands of terrorists and strengthening our background check system, to combatting gun trafficking and investing in research. Unfortunately, these bills never even get a hearing. That's what this resolution would do -- it would allow us to hold a hearing so we can start tackling this issue and putting an end to these senseless acts of violence."

A copy of the resolution can be found here.

The resolution is cosponsored by: Reps. Barragan, Bass, Beatty, Beyer, Blumenauer, Boyle, Brady, Brown, Brownley, Capuano, Carbajal, Carson, Cartwright, Chu, Cicilline, Clark, Clarke, Cohen, Connolly, Conyers, Crowley, Cuellar, Cummings, Susan Davis, Danny Davis, DeGette, DeLauro, Demings, DeSaulnier, Deutch, Doyle, Ellison, Engel, Eshoo, Espaillat, Esty, Gabbard, Gallego, Garamendi, Green, Grijalva, Hanabusa, Hastings, Himes, Huffman, Jackson Lee, Jayapal, Keating, Kelly, Kennedy, Kildee, Langevin, Larson, Lee, Levin, Lieu, Lofgren, Lowenthal, Lujan, Lujan Grisham, Maloney, Maloney, McCollum, McEachin, McGovern, McNerney, Meeks, Meng, Moore, Moulton, Napolitano, Norcross, Norton, Pallone, Pascrell, Payne, Perlmutter, Peters, Pocan, Polis, Quigley, Raskin, Rice, Ruiz, Ruppersberger, Rush, Ryan, Sanchez, Schakowsky, Schiff, Scott, Serrano, Shea-Porter, Sires, Slaughter, Speier, Swalwell, Takano, Titus, Tonko, Torres, Tsongas, Vargas, Veasey, Velazquez, Wasserman Schulz, Waters, Watson Coleman, Yarmuth