Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Larson Commends Reps. Johnson and Lewis on Receiving the Congressional Patriot Award

March 16, 2016
Press Release

Washington – Last night, the Bipartisan Policy Center (BPC) awarded the first Congressional Patriot Awards to Reps. Sam Johnson (TX-03) and John Lewis (GA-05) in a ceremony at the Library of Congress.

“This marks the beginning of a new bipartisan tradition in the spirit of the credo engraved about the Speaker’s chair: that we may in our day and generation perform something worthy to be remembered,” said Rep. John B. Larson (CT-01). “Reps. Sam Johnson and John Lewis have done much to be remembered by. Both are the epitome of heroism and service. One a Republican, one a Democrat. One conservative, one progressive. They are living reminders that patriotism knows no party, and the medals bestowed last night will forever bear their names.”

Rep. Larson speaks at the Congressional Patriot Award ceremony
Rep. Larson speaks at the Congressional Patriot Award Ceremony.

The BPC’s biennial Congressional Patriotism Award recognizes two members of Congress—one Democrat and one Republican—who place the interests of the nation above self in a manner that brings honor to the institution. As an honorary Congressional Co-Chair, Larson looks forward to the BPC’s continued efforts to promote bipartisanship.

“I congratulate BPC President Jason Grumet and Acting Librarian of Congress David Mao for a successful evening,” said Larson. “It was my deep honor to join Rep. Tom Cole, Sen. John McCain, and Ambassador Andrew Young in presenting these historic awards to two of our most esteemed friends and colleagues. It has been my privilege to work with both Reps. Johnson and Lewis on the Ways and Means Committee, and I am truly proud to help mark their great achievements.”