Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Larson Calls for the Establishment of a Presidential Youth Council

April 23, 2015
Press Release

Washington – Today Rep. John B. Larson (CT-01) and Rep. Rob Bishop (UT-01) introduced a resolution in Congress supporting the establishment of a Presidential Youth Council to advise the President of the United States on the perspectives of young Americans. The Council would also provide insight and suggestions on how to most effectively utilize federal funding to impact the nation’s youth.

“Change doesn’t start in Washington,” said Larson. “It begins in our schools and across our communities when young Americans speak up about the issues they face. The perspectives of our youth should be an essential part in shaping policies that directly impact their lives. That’s why a Presidential Youth Council is so important. I’m proud of the work we do with our own First Congressional Youth Cabinet in Connecticut because the decisions we make today shape the future our young constituents will inherit.  They deserve a voice in this critical process.”

Larson’s resolution enjoys bipartisan support from 28 co-sponsors. Current co-sponsors include Representatives Elizabeth Esty, Joe Courtney, Tim Ryan, Lacy Clay, Alcee Hastings, David Price, Tony Cardenas, Brad Ashford, Richard E. Neal, Chris Van Hollen, Julia Brownley, Betty McCollum, John Delaney, Mike Thompson, Andre Carson, Jim Cooper, Rob Bishop, Don Young, Susan Brooks, Leonard Lance, Bradley Byrne, Ryan Zinke, Bruce Westerman, Chris Stewart, Mike Fitzpatrick, Todd Young, David Young, and Kristi Noem.