Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect

COVID-19 Resources: Unemployment Benefits

To file for unemployment and to find updates on Connecticut’s implementation of the CARES Act, please see here.

On March 27, the CARES Act, first passed by the U.S. House of Representatives, was signed into law, which expands Unemployment Insurance eligibility and benefits.  

I was recently laid off or had my employer completely cut my hours because of the coronavirus. What resources are there for me? 

Laid off and furloughed workers are likely eligible for unemployment insurance under CARES Act. Additionally, as partthe CARES Act signed into law March 27, workers who are traditionally ineligible for Unemployment Benefits, including the self-employed and independent contractors, and those who have had their hours reduced, are able to receive benefits.  Rep. Larson worked with his House colleagues to secure an additional $600/week for those receiving unemployment insurance. However, this provision expired. The House passed the Heroes Act which extends this benefit, but the bill is currently being held up in the Senate.  

Why have my Unemployment Benefits gone down? 

As part of the CARES Act, Unemployment Insurance beneficiaries were provided a $600 increase in unemployment benefits between April 5, 2020 and July 25, 2020. This benefit has now expired. Rep. Larson strongly supports the Heroes Act, which would renew that benefit and make it retroactive to its expiration. 

What about President Trump’s executive order? 

On August 8, President Trump signed an executive order creating the FEMA Disaster Wage Benefita new Unemployment Insurance supplement. This is a new program that is eligible to recipients of at least $100 in weekly insurance benefits and will require a separate application. Eligible recipients will receive an additional $300 for their benefit weeks beginning July 26, August 2, and August 9. The State of Connecticut has submitted an application to the Federal Government to begin this program, and if approved, expects funds to be dispersed in mid-September. The State Department of Labor will mail letters with application instructions when information is available. Updates and more information can be found at the state’s website. 

My unemployment has recently expired or is about to expire, what do I do? 

Under the CARES Act, workers are eligible for an additional 13 weeks of unemployment in 2020, giving unemployed workers a total duration of 39 weeks in the State of Connecticut. 

What resources are available for me if I’m self-employed or otherwise usually not eligible for Unemployment? 

As part of the CARES Act, most workers who were previously ineligible for unemployment insurance will now be eligible for benefits. Through the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) program, newly eligible individuals include self-employed workers, independent contractors, gig economy workers who are unemployed as a result of the Coronavirus pandemic. PUA recipients were eligible for the $600 a week supplement to unemployment benefits which expired July 25.  The Heroes Act included an extension of this benefit, which Rep. Larson strongly supports, but the legislation is currently stalled in the Senate.  

Instructions on how to file for PUA can be found here. 

 

Para solicitar el desempleo y encontrar actualizaciones sobre la implementación de Connecticut de la Ley CARES, consulte aquí. 

El 27 de Marzo, el presidente Trump promulgó la Ley CARES, que amplía la elegibilidad y los beneficios del seguro de desempleo. Connecticut está actualmente en proceso de implementar estos cambios. 

Hace poco me despidieron o mi empleador me cortó las horas por completo debido al coronavirus. ¿Qué recursos hay para ? 

Los trabajadores despedidos y despedidos probablemente sean elegibles para el seguro de desempleoAdemáscomo parte de la Ley CARES firmada por ley el 27 de marzo, los trabajadores desempleados recibirán un aumento de $ 600 en beneficios de desempleo hasta el 25 de julio. Este suplemento de beneficios le dará al trabajador estadounidense promedio una tasa de reemplazo salarial del 100%. La Ley CARES también extiende el seguro de desempleo otras 13 semanas, para un total de 39 semanas de cobertura en el estado de Connecticut. 

Como parte de la Ley de respuesta al coronavirus de Families First, promulgada el 18 de marzo, Connecticut recibirá recursos adicionales para respaldar la administración del seguro de desempleo para dar cabida a un aumento de solicitantes. 

¿Qué recursos están disponibles para  si trabajo por cuenta propia o no soy elegible para el desempleo? 

Como parte de la Ley CARES, la mayoría de los trabajadores que anteriormente no eran elegibles para el seguro de desempleo ahora serán elegibles para beneficios siempre que su desempleo sea causado por el coronavirus. Las personas recién elegibles incluyen trabajadores por cuenta propiacontratistas independientestrabajadores de la economía del concierto y personas que no pudieron comenzar un nuevo trabajo. 

Mi desempleo ha expirado recientemente o está por expirar, ¿qué debo hacer? 

Los trabajadores son elegibles para 13 semanas adicionales de desempleo en 2020, dando a los trabajadores desempleados una duración total de 39 semanas en el estado de Connecticut.