Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Connect

COVID-19 Resources: Housing

I am concerned about getting evicted or not being able to pay my mortgage due to COVID-19. Am I protected? 

Under Agency Order issued by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)renters who meet certain income conditions cannot be evicted if they have exhausted their efforts to pay rentseek government rental assistance, and are likely to become homeless due to eviction through the end of 2020.  

In order to be protected, renters must attest under penalty of perjury that they meet the qualifications to qualify and submit a form to their landlord. The full eligibility rules and form can be found here   

  • For more information regarding housing assistance options in Connecticut, visit the Connecticut State Department of Housing website, hereThe CARES Act included additional protections which have since expired. The Heroes Act, which Rep. Larson voted for, would extend these protections The Heroes Act is being held up it in the Senate. These additional  protections include: Public housing 

  • Section 8 Choice Voucher Housing program 

  • Section 8 project-based housing 

  • Section 202 housing for the elderly 

  • Section 811 housing for people with disabilities 

  • Section 236 multifamily rental housing 

  • Below Market Interest Rate (BMIR) housing 

  • Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS 

  • Low-Income Housing Tax Credit funded properties 

  • McKinney-Vento Act homelessness programs 

  • For information about housing in Connecticut or referrals to legal assistance, please visit CT Fair Housing’s Coronavirus Information page here. 

Additionally, the State of Connecticut has negotiated additional mortgage relief for over 50 credit unions and banks. Under that agreement, participating institutions have agreed on a: 

  • 90-day grace period for all mortgage payments 

  • Relief from fees and charges for 90 days 

  • No new foreclosures for 60 days 

  • No credit score payments for those access relief 

For more information, and to find out which providers are participating, please visit the Connecticut Department of Banking’s website here. 

Me preocupa que me desalojen o que no pueda pagar mi hipoteca. ¿Estoy protegido?

Según la Ley CARES, si actualmente reside en una vivienda pública o asistida, está protegido contra el desalojo durante cuatro meses si no puede pagar el alquiler. Esta protección cubre propiedades que incluyen:

  • Vivienda pública
  • Programa de vivienda de vales de elección de la Sección 8
  • Sección 8 viviendas basadas en proyectos
  • Sección 202 viviendas para ancianos
  • Sección 811 de vivienda para personas con discapacidad
  • Sección 236 viviendas de alquiler multifamiliares
  • Vivienda por debajo de la tasa de interés de mercado (BMIR)
  • Oportunidades de vivienda para personas con SIDA
  • Propiedades financiadas por el Crédito Fiscal para Viviendas de Bajos Ingresos
  • Programas de personas sin hogar de la Ley McKinney-Vento

Además, la legislación prohíbe que se inicien procedimientos de ejecución hipotecaria sobre hipotecas con garantía federal durante cuatro meses. Estos incluyen préstamos a través de

  • Fannie y Freddie Mac
  • El Departamento de Asuntos de Veteranos (VA)
  • La Administración Federal de Vivienda (FHA)
  • El Departamento de Agricultura

Además, la Ley CARES permite que los pagos de hipotecas respaldados por el gobierno federal busquen la indulgencia de los pagos de préstamos durante 180 días, con la oportunidad de una mayor expansión. Las opciones de ayuda también están disponibles para los propietarios de unidades multifamiliares. Para obtener más información, consulte la página de la Autoridad Federal de Financiación de la Vivienda aquí.

Para obtener información sobre viviendas en Connecticut o referencias a asistencia legal, visite la página de información sobre coronavirus de CT Fair Housing aquí.

Además, el estado de Connecticut ha negociado alivio hipotecario adicional para más de 50 cooperativas de crédito y bancos. Según ese acuerdo, las instituciones participantes acordaron:\

  • Período de gracia de 90 días para todos los pagos de la hipoteca.
  • Alivio de tarifas y cargos por 90 días
  • Sin nuevas ejecuciones hipotecarias durante 60 días
  • No hay pagos de puntaje de crédito para esos alivio de acceso

Para obtener más información y saber qué proveedores participan, visite el sitio web del Departamento de Banca de Connecticut aquí.