Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20510

April 24, 2025

The Honorable Pamela Jo Bondi Attorney General United States Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20530

Dear Attorney General Bondi,

We write to express our deep concern about reports that the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW) has withdrawn its Notice of 2025 Funding Opportunities.¹ OVW administers critical grant programs that provide lifesaving support to survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking. The sudden withdrawal of these funding opportunities threatens to disrupt essential services, jeopardize the stability of victim assistance programs, and undermine the bipartisan commitment to combating these forms of violence. We respectfully urge the Department of Justice to clarify the status of these grants as soon as possible and take swift action to ensure funding remains available to support survivors and the organizations that serve them.

For decades, OVW's grant programs have provided vital resources to law enforcement agencies, legal service providers, crisis centers, and community organizations that work to support survivors and prevent violence and abuse. These programs have played a key role in carrying out the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA), which Congress once again reauthorized in 2022 on a bipartisan basis, creating several new programs to combat cybercrime and new grant programs to assist with victim services that address domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking.²

A delay or reduction in OVW funding will have devastating consequences for the countless individuals who rely on these resources for safety, legal protection, and recovery. This abrupt

¹ U.S. Dep't of Just., **Open Notices of Funding Opportunities**, Off. on Violence Against Women, <u>https://www.justice.gov/ovw/open-notices-of-funding-opportunities</u> (last visited Apr. 23, 2025).

² Cong. Rsch. Serv., **R47570**, **The 2022 Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) Reauthorization** (2023), <u>https://www.congress.gov/crs-product/R47570</u>.

withdrawal of funding has created severe uncertainty that threatens the well-being of survivors who cannot afford these delays. We ask that the Department clarify its plans to rectify this situation and ensure that OVW grant funding is fully restored without further delay to continue providing care to survivors of domestic violence.

Sincerely,

DIN

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

bbie Dingel

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

adelune

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Eleano H. Moton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Young Kim Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

melinde

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

TobirC

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Johnson 0:0

Julie Johnson Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Seline

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

ann Suller

Laura A. Gillen Member of Congress

Pecer Bis

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragár Member of Congress

ALL GALL

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

Paus Delate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Nikema Williams

Member of Congress

Dave Min

Member of Congress

y d. Pario and

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Ritchie Jone

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

cris Pap

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Andre Carson Member of Congress

Chelle R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

hartel Inn

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Panetta nmv Member of Congress

Deblie Wasser All

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

10.Cll

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Jassamin

Yassamin Ansari Member of Congress

acine to

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress



Ed Case Member of Congress

Timothe M. K.

Timothy M. Kennedy Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

marcy Kaptur

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Sarah McBride Member of Congress

ine a

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Jaseph D. marelle

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

Jewold Hadlen

ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

a Janamenti

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Alles lvia R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Suberf thing thinks

Kimberlyn King-Hinds Member of Congress

Schas Subramanyam Member of Congress

Jaun Friedra

Laura Friedman Member of Congress

ce Beatty

Member of Congress

ridy Chu

Judy Chu () Member of Congress

191

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Maxine Dexter Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon Member of Congress

MaulaScan

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

MALC

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Blillin R. Kenting

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Thomas

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

21

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Wesley Bell Member of Congress

Tinde J. San

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

nettony.

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Jasmine Crockett Member of Congress

R. Mcclue

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Frederica Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

Mark Pocan

Member of Congress

Kristen McDonald Rivet Member of Congress

Cinica Exobar

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

he Showport

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

aunua Un

Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen Member of Congress

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr Member of Congress

Cleo Fields Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Wheter cory

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Elpheth

Sarah Elfreth Member of Congress

Jonne

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Gun S. Proof

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Trank Pallon,

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

James P. Une

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Jakana Hayes

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Lucy MeBath

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

foe Neguse Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

N Tokude

J**W** Tokuda Member of Congress

George Latimer Member of Congress

ah Km

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

0

Kelly Modison Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Cohe

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Han

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

lenn Ivey

Member of Congress

Lanen

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Brender Sal

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

0

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Mi Sewell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Set h Magazin

Member of Congress

, rin Mullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Herbert C. Conaway, Jf. Member of Congress

tilly ? the

Hillary J. Scholten Member of Congress

A hva

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Maggie Goollonder

Maggie Goodlander Member of Congress