Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Larson: DeLauro’s Selection as Appropriations Chair is a Historic Moment for Connecticut

December 3, 2020
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Today, Rep. John B. Larson (CT-01) released the following statement after the House Democratic Caucus voted for Rep. Rosa DeLauro (CT-03) to be chosen as the Chair of the House Appropriations Committee in the 117th Congress.  

I extend my congratulations to Rosa on this outstanding accomplishmentThis is a historic first for Connecticut. Not since Jonathan Trumbull was elected Speaker of the House has Connecticut held such an important position in the United States Congress. Rosa is the first member of Connecticut to be Chair of the Appropriations Committee. With Rosa DeLauro now Chair of the Appropriations Committee, Richard Neal of Springfield, Massachusetts Chair of the Ways and Means Committee, and Jim McGovern of Massachusetts Chair of the Rules CommitteeNew England is now the most influential region in the country.  

Rosa’s dedication and persistence in always fighting for the people of Connecticut and the least among us across this great nation is unparalleledShe was recognized and rewarded by her peers with an overwhelming election. Rosa will be a critical player working with the Biden Administration and bringing us through this COVID pandemic, and putting the country back to work.  It is an honor to serve alongside of her and see the faith that her colleagues have in bestowing this Chairmanship in her very capable hands. Congratulations Rosa, you’ve made us all very proud!”